Blogging for My Birthday

Am blogging on the eve of my 66th birthday.

I haven’t posted a blog for over a week. I have to finish a book on rural electrification for the 40th anniversary in August 2009. There are also a series of activities toward launching the Electric Consumers Advocacy of the Philippines or ECAP, and I have been asked to serve as interim national president. 

But before midnight comes, I thought I should post a new blog, even a short one. After all, I started blogging on my 64th birthday two years ago. More precisely the day after my birthday, upon the suggestion of Raymond Palatino. Thanks, again. How time passes. He is now a newly seated party-list member of Congress.

I take a quick glance at my blog stats. I have posted exactly 300 blogs since I started on July 12, 2007. Another interesting stats. My most read posts are those on alternative learning systems or ALS, followed by those on malunggay.

I realize that Facebook must be drawing much of the energy I would otherwise devote to regular blogging. It used to be that my sister Yen in Puerto Rico and my son Yeyi with his wife Minette in Singapore would track my travels and activities through my blog posts. So did other friends. They told me so. That made me blog often. Now it’s faster and easier to post brief updates on Facebook. But I’m still resisting Twitter.

The first theme I chose for my blog was “Renewing our spirituality and strategy for justice.” That still reflects one of my central concerns. But I replaced it last year with “Between Honesty and Hope.” Part of the influence was the solo art exhibit that I had which used that theme. But the main reason is that it captures the permanent tension I feel in my life, driven by hope to break barriers, but tempered by acceptance of limitations.

I think of people who have passed on, most recently Susan Fernandez, and before her, Julius Fortuna. Christian faith makes us believe they have been born to a new life beyond. But the sense of loss will not go away. Inay died almost five months ago, and as I think of her now, I miss her again.

Still my life has been blest. I give thanks for life, and love, and learning.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family and Friends, Renewing our spirit

3 Comments on “Blogging for My Birthday”

  1. Patricia Wagner Says:

    Hi Ed,
    From long ago and far away, Happy Birthday! I mostly remember your 40th, because of a t-shirt you wore the day I visited you in Bicutan. My daughter, Rose, named for Sr. Rosario, just had a birthday too. She’s 11, and a gazelle.

    Between Honesty and Hope – that’s been your point-of-view for a good long time. I suppose its where my sermons end up most Sundays – they have too, really.

    I meant to write a response to your blog where you describe waking up and singing with Girlie both verses of the Internationale! You two are right, many are called, but few know the second verse.

    I had heard about Mommy dela Torre. I am grateful for the hospitality she showed all of us on Mindoro. I had not heard about Susan, and am sorry for the loss of her singular voice and heart.
    I, too, am “grateful for life and love and learning.” Thanks for all I learned from you.

    Patty

  2. Malu P. Says:

    Dear Ed,

    Maligayang pagbati sa iyong kaarawan. Wishing you many more happy birthdays to come!
    I feel blessed for havng friends like you and Girlie no matter how far away we are from each other. We share the same grief for the loss of people who’ve touched our lives meaningfully.

    Regards from all of us also to Girlie and Ayen.
    Till we meet again….

    – Malu

  3. taroogs Says:

    Belated Happy Birthday po, Father Ed! Hindi halatang 66 ka na — parang 65 lang eh.

    Joke! Hehehe :p


Leave a comment